Bharat NCAP Launch Today: India’s Leap into Vehicle Safety

Bharat NCAP

Today’s the big day! Nitin Gadkari, our Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways, is about to pull the curtains on the Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP). And with this, India proudly steps into the limelight as the fifth country worldwide to introduce its very own car crash safety initiative. The endgame? Making our roads safer and bringing down those heart-wrenching numbers of accidents and casualties.

Now, here’s the scoop. The Bharat NCAP is casting its net wide. It’s looking at vehicles that can carry up to eight folks, driver included. And if your vehicle’s gross weight doesn’t tip the scales over 3.5 tonnes, it’s in! From your snazzy little hatchbacks to those grand sedans, from the tough-as-nails SUVs to roomy MPVs – if it’s on Indian roads, it’s game. And – oh, this bit warms my old heart – they’re not leaving out CNG or electric vehicles. Having witnessed the shift from the roar of combustion engines to the silent hum of electric ones, this inclusion means a lot. All car brands from Maruti Suzuki, Hyundai, Kia, Honda, and Tata Motors that are selling in India will be brought to test under this soon.

Bharat NCAP Nitin Gadkari
Bharat NCAP Nitin Gadkari

Bharat NCAP Procedure

Now, carmakers can willingly put their vehicles up for the test, following the Automotive Industry Standard (AIS) 197. But here’s the twist – the Bharat NCAP has the authority to handpick vehicles right off showroom floors for a surprise test. Talk about keeping things above board!

See also  Maruti Fronx Hybrid to launch in 2025, more In-House Hybrids on the way

I’ve been around to see countless crash tests, and let me tell you, they’re no child’s play. The Bharat NCAP’s tests are no different. They’re going to put these cars through the wringer with tests like the Offset Deformable Barrier Frontal Impact Test, Side Impact Test, and the Pole Side Impact Test. These aren’t just fancy names; they replicate real crash situations. And those dummies? They’re decked out with sensors to gauge the impact, shedding light on how safe the car really is.

Bharat NCAP Stars and Safety

Once the dust settles, each vehicle will earn its stars, anywhere from none to a shining five. These stars will represent two main areas: How well adults are protected (AOP) and the safety measures for kids (COP). Want to bag that prestigious five-star in AOP? Your vehicle better rack up at least 27 points. And for the kiddos? A minimum of 41 points in the COP category.

Bharat NCAP – Welcoming Move

The Bharat NCAP’s introduction is a landmark moment for our beloved Indian automotive scene. It’s more than just a rating system; it’s a commitment to life. Having been in the thick of things for so long, my heart swells with pride and a touch of excitement. The journey ahead is thrilling, and I’m on the edge of my seat, waiting to see how our carmakers step up. Here’s to safer roads and even safer drives! Cheers!